Second Volunteering

Today I did my second volunteering work at Standard Chartered Marathon KL 2013 and that is doing what I do best, as a doctor ๐Ÿ™‚ This first time involvement had left me with not only experience and new friends but also one unforgettable feeling. That is. Being able to do what I love and helping those particular group of people that kept me amazed, the runners ๐Ÿ™‚

I went there with 6 other friends of mine and we each assigned to one ambulance. That is to put in another word. One doctor per ambulance. I was horrified. With this embarrassing knowledge of mine and no working experience we were given a big responsibility. Why big? We never work alone without supervision. Yah, that’s why, no working experience had lead us thinking what had we put ourselves into (LOL)

But, all in all favor, we sucked it up and followed the team still. Praise the Almighty Allah swt, we did not encountered any severe cases. But still, Masha Allah…. there were few cases whom other doctors had attended to which were inferior MI (heart attack), heat stroke and severe dehydration. All these cases were brought to the hospital asap.

Cases that I met, mostly were just cramped lower legs. One of the runners I encountered was a 56 year old Chinese gentleman with cramps at both of his lower legs. I wrapped his legs with ice packs and applied some counterpain cream. ย I sat next to him and gently stretching his legs and move them about. Since it took quite sometime to relieved the cramping, I took the time to chat with him.

Now, I know, in previous posts I did told you I had problem with mingling. But, the best thing about being doctor is that mingling was spontaneous and there was no pressure to it. I called him ‘uncle’ (the best about being Malaysian is everybody in some sort of way related to each other, haha).

I sat crossed leg by his side, not minding other runners who stared at me like I was gonna dissect him (haha), massaging his calves and had a little chit chat. Questions I first asked was his age and he replied to me with a knowing laugh probably realising with that age he shouldn’t be running a 42km distance anymore which I find it wrong.

Now you see, that moment when a patient replied to you with a smile or laugh you just knew by then ‘you got him!’ After that question I started to ask more and the next thing I knew we were chatting like grandpa and grandchild talking to each other at kedai kopi. Haha. I was advising him to not push himself to run more since the cramping was too much and that if he continued it would get worst. But of course with a laugh he insisted on continuing which I didn’t forbid at all knowing that, if I was him I would continue still (but then again, I was stationed at km 30 and that means he still got another 12km to finish… -.-) He thanked me and bade me farewell, smiling with eyes partly closed (sepet) ย ๐Ÿ™‚

Anotherย runner came straight to me telling me that he had pain at the lateral side of the right knee. Now with this runner I had a little bit of fun where I did the knee examination ๐Ÿ™‚ I was concerned that he might hurt his lateral collateral ligament and therefore I gave him the advise accordingly and he listened tentatively, nodding understandingly and thanked me.

The one thing that hit me hard was when my team called me “DOCTOR”. I know, I know…typical for fresh medical graduates to feel like this but I had a flash back when I would feel happy and ambitious whenever I heard somebody is addressing or calling someone else a doctor. Back then it felt glorious and all cause I think doctor is so cool cos they help people etc etc etc. Now that I had that being called to me I felt like a bomb being dropped on my head. I didn’t really feel anything when family and friends called me that but with a complete stranger, it felt so burdened I insisted that they called me by my name. One of the raider then said, “tak boleh la doktor nak panggil nama bila dah tahu doktor ni doktor”. Ok waw, dude…not helping =.=

Another thing is, the team and Mr Jay, the person-in-charge of us doctors, was really generous and humble when they were talking to us. They addressed us as if we were the YB or minister when we were only jobless fresh graduates. Such courtesy yet to be seen in hospital where HO was treated as respectful and as humble as they did BUT being the HO him/herself treat others in such way.

Woah~ that was much of rattle I did which I find it rare. Anyway, this is definitely an unforgettable memory that I chose to re-live again in near future ๐Ÿ™‚

photo 4

photo 1 (1)

photo 2 (1)

Leave a Reply

